Michael Ackermann from Lake City, MN Wins $10,000 CASH

Congrats to Michael Ackermann from Lake City, MN won $10,000 in the CASH KING promotion! He qualified for the national final by scratching off 4-of-a-kind on a Scratch Poker card. Weekly winners in the league get a chance to play the Scratch Card when winning any regular season poker tournament for a chance to win instant CASH and QUALIFY for Nationals!

21 Qualify for Nationals from Minnesota, Including Husband-Wife

The big story of the day had to be the fact that Nels Peterson cruised his way through the field for yet another (6th) national qualification AND his wife Tannia did too! 

Some of the top players statistically from the Spring/Summer sessions were Rick Heinecke (league champ at 3 different bars), Darold Shaefer (overall points leader in the spring session with 1,996), Nick Hejlek (most points in summer quarter for bars running one session per night), and Chris Kwong (most points at bars running 2 sessions per night). 

National runner-up at the WSOP 100 Buy-Ins promo and inaugural Minnesota winner Greg Anderson from Hewitt, MN missed his bid for back-to-back nationals. 

At the dinner break, the chip leaders included 2 players from the same bar, Tannia Peterson (79k) and Tom Miskowicz (101k) (All Aboard in Albany) and Jordan Handeland (94k) from Larry's in Cottonwood...Tom Miskowicz continued to run good after the break, busting 3 players in a huge pot, and then following that up with hitting 4-of-a-kind holding aces shortly after that to bust Steve Kneisl from the Wadena area.

Once the field got down to 22 players, the tournament grinded hand-for-hand until the last 2 players were eliminated. 

Here are the Minnesota Top 20:

IMG 8646-wTannia Peterson – All Aboard Bar & Grill, Albany
Nels Peterson - All Aboard Bar & Grill, Albany
Brian Hettver – Hutchinson Elks Lodge
Nick Krier – Erick’s Bar, St. Paul
Dave Wilts – Erick’s Bar, St. Paul
John Rossbach – Erick’s Bar, St. Paul
Tim Dieterle – Erick’s Bar, St. Paul
Randy Breitenfeldt – Silver Moon, Perham
Bud Maahs – Billy’s, Vergas
Ben Bethke – Hoot N Holler, Ottertail
Jake Stringfellow – Mac & Chester’s, Oak Grove
Don Ellwanger – Parkers Prairie Liquor Store
Adam Happe – Kandi Bowl, Willmar
Jimmy Miles – Brothers, Rochester
Shanna Sharp – IDK Sports Bar, Atwater
Tom Miskowic - All Aboard Bar & Grill, Albany
Rick Heinecke – 210 Bar & Grill, Foxhome
Allan O’Shea – Met Lounge, Morris
Jordan Handeland – LeRoy’s Bar & Grill, Cottonwood
Troy DeMann – Dawn’ Corner Bar, Dundas

Jeremy Lee from the Z103 Bar and Grill in Fergus Falls won the 2nd chance tournament, beating out Robb Butcher. 

Be sure to view and tag your fiends in the Minnesota Championship Photo Gallery on Facebook


Minnesota Tradition Continues

  • OVer ninety (90) WSOP buy-ins including five (6) $10,000 Main Event seats have been awarded to Minnesota players!
  • Over $338,865 and counting..seats, air/hotel packages, and other bonus prizes have been awarded to Minnesota players since 2005!! This does NOT include prizes given away at nightly events, regional events, and other miscellaneous prizes. This is major prizes only!!!

Earn Money Organizing Poker Leagues!

Grass-roots players and poker enthusiasts have built this bar league. Make some extra money and have fun promoting poker! Click Here for more information. Or email sales@freepokernetwork.com